• Zoom Resources

    New to Zoom?  Take a look at Videos and On-Demand Training Sessions 

    Security Settings

    From Zoom:

    Virtual Waiting Room Turned on by Default
    Going forward, the virtual waiting room feature will be automatically turned on by default. The Waiting Room is just like it sounds: It’s a virtual staging area that prevents people from joining a meeting until the host is ready. 

    How do I admit participants into my meeting? 
    It’s simple. As the host, once you’ve joined, you’ll begin to see the number of participants in your waiting room within the Manage Participants icon. Select Manage Participants to view the full list of participants, then, you’ll have the option to admit individually by selecting the blue Admit button or all at once with the Admit All option on the top right-hand side of your screen.  For step-by-step instructions, please watch this 2-minute video.

    • Disable the option to join before the host.  This feature is disabled by default.
    • Disable Screen Sharing - The current default is set to "Only Host"   To verify, select the Share Screen option from within Zoom, Advanced Sharing Options, Who can Share, and select, Only Host

    From Zoom:

    How do I give meeting participants the ability to share?
    If you’d like to give participants screen sharing permission when hosting your next meeting, simply click the arrow to the right of the Screen Sharing icon, select Advanced Sharing Options and select All Participants.
    If you’d like to re-enable participant content sharing at the account level, please go to SettingsIn Meetings (Advanced) > and select All Participants.
     
    If your end-users would like to re-enable participant content sharing at the individual level, please visit zoom.us/profile/setting Screen Sharing > and select All Participants.
    This image shows the setting option for sharing a screen when using Zoom
    • Lock the meeting once started.
    • If possible, select a co-host to help manage the meeting.  Go to the Settings icon, Meetings, and enable Co-host.
    • If a participant is creating an issue during the meeting, you have the option to lock the participant out of the meeting.  Go to the Participants List, scroll to the option More, click Lock Meeting.  At this point, you can remove the participant.

    Additional Information from Zoom:

    Meeting Passwords Enabled “On”
    Going forward, your previously scheduled meetings (including those scheduled via your Personal Meeting ID) will have passwords enabled. If your attendees are joining via a meeting link, there will be no change to their joining experience. For attendees who join meetings by manually entering a Meeting ID, they will need to enter a password to access the meeting. 

    For attendees joining manually, we highly recommend re-sharing the updated meeting invitation before your workweek begins. Here’s how you can do that:
    Log in to your account, visit your Meetings tab, select your upcoming meeting by name, and copy the new meeting invitation to share with your attendees. For step-by-step instructions, please watch this 2-minute video or read this FAQ.

    For meetings scheduled moving forward, the meeting password can be found in the invitation. The password will be displayed in the Zoom client. The password can also be found in the meeting join URL.